American Association of Public Health Dentistry



LEADERS IN PROMOTING ORAL HEALTH

2014 AAPHD Awards Program April 28, 2014 Fort Worth, Texas

Nicholas Mosca Immediate Past President



2014 AAPHD Public Service Award



the voice for children's oral health Washington, D.C.

2014 AAPHD Public Service Award

CDHP Staff & Consultants



2014 AAPHD Student Merit Awards **Thanks to the Review Committee** Sena Narendran, Chair Mert Aksu Linda Kaste Raghunath Puttiah Ritu Bansal Divesh Byrappagari



Leverett Graduate Student Merit Award for **Outstanding Achievement Dental Public Health**



First Place

Vinicius Tavares New York State Department of Health

Trends In Ambulatory Care Sensitive Dental Related Visits to Hospital Emergency Departments in New York State, 2007 to 2011

Sponsor: Dr. Jay Kumar



Second Place Leo Achemborg University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health

Impact of a Preventive Dental Program in Medical Offices on Statewide Trends in Dental Caries

Sponsor: Dr. R Gary Rozier

Third Place Julie Reynolds University of Iowa College of Dentistry

Neighborhood and Family Social Capital and the Oral Health of Children in Iowa

Sponsor: Dr. John J. Warren



Honorable Mention Liny Cheeran Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine

Trends in Access to Dental Care and Dental Insurance Status among Children and Adolescents

Sponsor: Dr. Kristin Williams

Predoctoral Dental Student Merit Award for **Outstanding Achievement Community Dentistry**



First Place

Sydney Stoker, Amelia Stoker, and Caroline DeVincenzi

Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry

Oral Health Status, Knowledge, and Practices among 12-Year-Old Kenyan Children – A Global Health Study Sponsor: Dr. Eli Schwarz

Second Place William Jacobson

Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine

Oral Health Care in the LGBT Population: Access, Perceptions, Barriers, and Potential Solutions

Sponsor: Dr. Kristin Williams

Third Place Adam Fitzgerald Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine

Use of Spatial Analysis to Inform Community Outreach Activities

Sponsor: Dr. Poonam Jain

Honorable Mention Linda Borna University of Southern California Ostrow School of Dentistry

Eliminating the Oral Health Disparity in Low Socio-Economic Communities through Dental Education and Preventive Care

Sponsor: Dr. Santosh Sundaresan

Dental Hygiene Student Merit Award for **Outstanding Achievement Community Dentistry**



First Place

Laura Hettinger University of Michigan School of Dentistry Dental Hygiene Degree Completion Program

Perinatal and Well-Child Community Oral Health Education Program

Sponsor: Janet Kinney, RDH, MS

Second Place

Laura Beers, Lydia Diekmann, Erin Herbranson, and Erin Klobe

> University of Minnesota Division of Dental Hygiene

Community Oral Health Outreach Project: Native American Community Clinic

Sponsor: Priscilla Flynn, RDH, DrPH

2014 AAPHD Awards Program

AAPHD Foundation Awards

Kathryn Atchison Foundation Chair



Herschel S. Horowitz Scholarship



Rhonda Stevens, DDS Indiana University Fairbanks School of Public Health

Foundation Grant Award

Lisa Simon, BS, DMD Candidate Romesh Nalliah, BDS Harvard University



2014 AAPHD Awards Program

AAPHD President's Awards

Catherine Hayes AAPHD President



AAPHD President's Award



Chester Douglass, DMD, PhD *Professor Emeritus Harvard School of Dental Medicine*

Distinguished Service Award



Diane Brunson, MPH



Distinguished Service Award



Donald Marianos, DDS, MPH



Thank You for Supporting the **AAPHD Awards Program**

